Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Christmas Time!

I love Christmas!  I really, really do!  Which is why I decided to finally finish the novel of a post I was working on about the last few months so I could post about the things I am so excited about right now!

My heart is just full of joy this Christmas Season.  I have warm house, a wonderful husband, and a perfect, precious little boy.  I love how happy my little family makes me!  December has been a great month for me so far, and I just cannot contain how happy I am to be alive right now!
    Hudson has grown so much the last few weeks...my baby is no longer a newborn, he is definitely a little baby!  He started rolling from his tummy to his back the week of Thanksgiving, and I can normally get him to roll at least once or twice a day.  He has only rolled once from his back to his stomach, but I'm pretty sure that's because something was in the middle of the bed that helped to make and indent for him to roll into.  I also have a SMILEY baby boy!  His smiles just light up the whole room!  They are so adorable!  Sometimes it takes some coaxing to get them out of him...but don't worry, they come.  Sometimes on the days when I am feeling especially down, he start smiling and cooing, and everything becomes better!  For awhile he would only smile at me, but now he is smiling at everyone as long as you play with him.  He also has GROWN!!!  BIG TIME!  I put him to bed one night, and I think he must have eaten some magic beans or something because when he woke up he was bigger!  No joke!  He was heavier and longer, and just had a different look of understanding, he now will focus on things and explore them.  Especially his hands and feet which I just think is so precious.  He really is just the perfect little baby.  His reflux is getting better.  He only throws up a few times a week instead of multiple times a day, and he isn't nearly as fussy.  Except when I take him to the store....I think that little guy has a store radar because he will be great and happy all day long, and then as soon as we get into the store he starts screaming!  So the only way I can go to the store now is to hold him in one arm, and push the cart and shop with the other.
   This week is finals and Joe is working so hard to get good grades in all of his classes.  He has decided that he wants to go to Medical school now, so he is working extra hard to make sure his grades are good, and I am so proud of him.  They are training him for a management position at work so he has been going in early every day for the last week or so.  I am so proud of him for how hard he has worked at his company.
   As for me I am just loving being a mommy.  Getting a little stir crazy at home though.  I am excited for when school starts again (I think I just have a thing for being busy,) but I am worried about babysitters for Hudson and how I am going to juggle that.  I've been so excited this entire month because at the end of this week Hudson and I get to go to my parent's house for Christmas!  Hudson and I will be going home on Sunday with Allison, while Joe stays in Rexburg for a few more days to work, and then he will drive to Gooding to spend Christmas with us!  I'm really grateful that Joe is willing to stay by himself for a few days so that I can get some extra time with my family.  I felt bad that I was going to be leaving him, so I put together a Christmas countdown for him, so that he will have something special each day this month!  It has been a great project for me because I love getting to do sweet "wifey" type things for my husband and this had "sweet wifey" written all over it!  I'll post a picture of it, but basically Joe gets to read one card each day before he goes to work and it is an assortment of compliments, services, and activities.  I LOVE getting to watch him read them and get all excited about his "gift" for the day.  It has really also helped me to see all the helpful, little thing he does for me, and has increased my love for him even more!

Halloween, Thanksgiving, and all the stuff in between!

Well, it's been forever and I day since I posted last.  I kind of got out of my freak out about putting things about the baby on facebook (basically because he is so stinkin cute and i love that my friends and family get to see him)  and stopped updating my blog as often.  Life has been so great since our sweet baby joined our family.  I cannot believe how incredibly happy life has made me in the last year.
So here is the run down of life lately.
On October 16 we went to Gooding to bless the baby in my home ward.  It was so wonderful to be surrounded by such loving family and friends as we blessed our baby.  His blessing was beautiful and Joe did such a great job even though he was really nervous.  It was one of those moments when I was struck as to what a sweet precious angel I have been given.  I have always loved hearing baby blessings and I have always thought they were beautiful, but there is something very special about it being YOUR baby's blessing.  The spirit was so strong, and I am so blessed to have such a wonderful baby.  I know that my little man is going to be a great son that will bring me a lot of happiness, and do some wonderful things in his life.
The next week Joe's parents came and stayed with us and we had a blast!!!  I really love my in-laws!  They have raised such a good man, husband and father.  Being with them all week gave me an insight as to why Joey is the way his and why I am so lucky to have them!  I also am blessed to have such a wonderful mother-in-law.  She is such a wonderful, loving mother and she makes me feel like one of her own.  I'm glad I married into such a great family.
Our anniversary was on the 23 of October and we celebrated by going out for dinner and buying a moby wrap!!!  Happy Anniversary to us!  (I had been wanting a moby wrap since the baby came, and it has since proved to be a lifesaver!)  I cannot believe that we have been married for a year!  So much has happened and I am so lucky to be married to such a wonderful man!  I've really grown a lot this year and learned a lot about life that I didn't really understand before.  I really can't believe how blessed I am, and how happy one man could make me!
Halloween was great, we dressed Hudson up as a little skeleton, and did his hair in a mow-hawk for Joe's work party, and for our ward party, and then on the actual day of Halloween we dressed him up as pooh bear.  I was so excited to finally get trick-or-treaters, and we only got one!!!  and that's because the kids door-bell ditched us and didn't run away in time!  I felt sad...but, it meant I got to eat all the candy!
Novemeber was pretty uneventful except one big thing...HUDSON STARTED SMILING!  He is now a full fledged smiler and it just lights up the whole room when he smiles.  He just started recognizing me and he gets a huge grin whenever he sees me.  He also is starting to recognize himself in the mirror and smile when he see's himself.  (I'm not sure if he realizes yet that that is him he sees in the mirror or just someone he knows.)  We are still working on getting him to recognize Joey, but I'm sure it's coming soon.
November was a bit of a hard month.  Hudson started throwing up constantly and we determined he has acid reflux, so he was throwing up projectile almost every time he ate, and his poor little tummy hurt all the time.  But, I think that is coming to it's end, because he isn't throwing up nearly as much now as he was, and he seems to be a lot happier.
Thanksgiving Break was a great holiday, but also quite stressful!  My big sister Mari had her wedding on the day after Thanksgiving, so on Wednesday we flew down to Arizona, and Hudson did GREAT on the plane!  It was a ton of fun seeing my family and getting to play with my Aunt Kelly and Uncle Bill and their family for a few days!  Friday was the wedding, and it was such a beautiful wedding.  My sister was a gorgeous bride and her husband is a good man, and you can tell that he loves her very much!  They asked me to sing as part of the wedding ceremony, and I only had one day to prepare, so I was really, really nervous to sing.  I bought a karaoke track for the song the morning of, and nobody told me that they couldn't get that track onto the I-pod they were using for the wedding.  They had to download a different version of the song...one that was not karaoke!  So I came forward when it was my turn to sing, the music started, and I opened my mouth to sing...and...someone started singing with me!!!  I was super startled and bewildered, because I couldn't figure out how the track without words that I bought suddenly had words on it!  AHHH!!!  But I kept on singing, and did a good job so it wasn't that big of a deal.  I wasn't told until after the wedding what had happened.
We flew back into Salt Lake on Saturday morning and we got to spend the day with Joe's parents and his sister Katie because Joe's cousin Charity got married that day and they were there for the wedding.  We got to watch as Charity and her new husband came out of the Temple, and it was really neat being reminded of how excited Joe and I were when we came out of the Temple together!  We got to introduce Hudson to my Aunt Ann who we met for lunch on Saturday and it was really great to see her!
Around five while we were at the dinner for the wedding, my stomach started to really start hurting.  It hit the point where it hurt to walk and all of that fun jazz, so we decided to go to the emergency room in Salt Lake.  The Dr. needed a CT scan to look at my stomach, so I got to do one of those and some other fun tests, the stinky thing about the CT scan is that the radiation gets into breast milk, so Hudson got to start on formula!  Hooray...not really.  He took it pretty well though, and I pretty much cried each time I had to pump a bottle and dump it out.  That milk is like liquid gold!  Not even kidding!  After the CT scan the Dr. came in and said that I have a Hiated Hernia, and to go see my Dr. when I got home.  After seeing my Dr. he gave me some medicine to help my bowel movements, and to start eating LOTS of fruits and veggies, drink TONS of water, and get a lot of fiber.  I am feeling much better now, and life is pretty good.
   

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Hudson Joseph Parks!

Well, even though this is almost a month late...The BABY IS HERE!  His name is Hudson Joseph Parks, he was born Monday, September 19, 2011.  He was 6 pounds 14 ounces, and he was 19 inches long!  From the moment he came I was so in love with him.  I can't believe how blessed I am to have this wonderful little guy in my life.  The first three weeks have been challenging, but so wonderful and I wouldn't trade them for anything in the world.   I know that I promised to write my birth story, so here it is....warning, it's kinda long, I didn't want to leave anything out!

After a fun Saturday night, (the 17th,) of going to a street fair, eating blizzards and tater tots, and watching Pocahontas on the couch with Joe, I started to get some bigger contractions than I was having before, and they started coming closer together...though they still weren't hurting a lot, just making me uncomfortable.  We called my mom just to give her a heads up of what was going on, so that if we called at 3:00 in the morning, she would be ready to go!  We went to bed that night hoping it was going to happen soon...we woke up Sunday morning pretty disappointed :(  We went to church like normal, and the contractions just kept coming, though they were no longer regular.  After church we went on a loooong walk to the stadium, and then we went up and down the stairs a few times, just to see if that would help!  While walking the stairs my mom called to say that she just had the feeling that she needed to come right then.  I didn't think I was in labor or would be for at least another day, so I was worried that she would come and use all her time off of work just waiting for the baby to come!  She assured me that she really just felt prompted to come...so we told her to do it!  After returning home from our walk, we played a nice game of monopoly, and then went on another walk!  By then the contractions were stronger, still not hurting, but not regular at all!  My mom got here around 6 and we ate dinner and then played a game of Monopoly with her.  (Joe LOVES monopoly...so we play it a lot)  After that my contractions were coming about every 7-10 minutes apart.  We cleaned up the kitchen really quick, and then I sent Joe to bed, so that he could get some rest in case I wasn't in labor and he needed to go to school the next day.  By this point it was about 11 at night, and I was tired...but my contractions were coming 5-6 minutes apart.  Mom and I went on a walk, just to see what it would do...by the end of the walk my contractions were 3-5 minutes apart...and getting a little bit stronger, though I still wasn't experiencing the excruciating pain of labor.  In fact, I wasn't in a ton of pain at all...just really, really uncomfortable.
   After we returned home...Mom suggested that maybe it was time to go to the hospital.  I really didn't want to go to the hospital because my contractions weren't very strong.  And I didn't want to be sent home.  We sat on the couch talking and resting till about 1:00, and then decided to just go to bed, and see where I was in the morning.  I went and woke Joe up, and told him.  He in turn told me that he really felt like we needed to go to the hospital.  We prayed about it together, and then separately.  While praying, I knew I wasn't in labor, but I kept feeling like there was something else, and we needed to go to the hospital.  We went and woke mom up, and got everything loaded into the car.  After everything was loaded, Joe gave me a blessing.  In the blessing I was promised that I would be able to make the right decisions concerning our baby, and that I would be given strength and peace throughout this journey.  I then continued to be confused about going to the hospital or not, and changed my mind about 5 times before my mom and Joe finally convinced me that being sent home from the hospital is not a big deal.  So off to the hospital we went!
     We got to the hospital around 1:30, and we were put in an exam room.  The nurse checked me and said I was dilated to a 2, and 85% effaced.  She then hooked me up to the monitor for contractions and they baby's heartbeat, and took my vitals.  She asked me what my plan for pain management was, and I told her I wanted to go as natural as possible, though I was willing to do whatever was best for me and the baby.  After taking my vitals, she told me there was something she didn't like and was going to check a few more things.  After checking my vitals once more, "well you aren't in labor, but you have really, really high blood pressure, and that is a problem."  My heart just dropped.  I don't think I have ever been so afraid in my life.  She also told me that my labor plan would be changing and I needed to be flexible.  I agreed to do whatever it takes to keep my baby safe.  She called the Dr. and then admitted me into the hospital!  I was really excited for that part.  At least I wasn't going to be sent home!
    After being admitted, we moved to a different room.  They started an I.V. and then a lab guy came to get some blood work, to check into the high blood pressure.  The entire time I was terrified as to whether or not the baby was ok.  I kept praying that everything would work out and that my baby would be ok.  Even though I was so scared I felt assured that Heavenly Father was taking care of us.  The blood work came back, and it turns out I had preclampsia, (pregnancy induced high blood pressure)  The scary thing about preclampsia is that both mom and baby have high risk of stroke and seizures.  I was baffled, because we had just been at the Dr.s office Saturday morning, and my blood pressure was great!  It had been my whole pregnancy.  When I realized that I had developed that in less than two days, my heart dropped again, but this time in gratitude.  I was so grateful that we had listened to the prompting to come to the hospital when we did.  With as fast as it developed, who knew what could have happened if we had waited?  I was also really glad that my mom listened to the prompting to come when she did!
    Around 3:00 the Dr. came in to discuss what was going on.  He told me that if I still wanted to go natural he would start me on magnesium to drop the blood pressure, and pitocin to speed up my contractions.  My mom, the Dr. and the nurse all informed me that magnesium was a nasty, nasty medicine and it would make me feel super yucky.  The Dr. gave me my second option, which was to get an epidural.  Epidurals normally make the blood pressure drop, and mom normally has to be given medicine to keep it up.  So I just wouldn't be given that medicine.  We opted for the epidural, and so the nurse went to go call the anesthesiologist.  The Dr. then told me that he wanted to place in internal monitor to better track my contractions and the baby's heartbeat...what he failed to mention though was that he had to break my water to do it!  So as they were getting ready, I had no idea, and though it was going to be an easy-peasy procedure.  My mom realized I didn't have a clue as to what was happening said, "Cami he is about to break your water."  I was really glad for the warning, because that HURT!  After he broke my water I learned what REAL contractions felt like, and I was in tears big time.  Around 4:30 the anesthesiologist came in to give me the epidural.  I was so happy to see him walk in the room!  Getting the epidural was actually kind of cool.  I was really scared though because they told me I couldn't move...even if I got a contraction.  I was really really worried about that and prayed continually that I would be given the strength to hold still, and I did!  I guess I got a really bad contraction right as he was placing the needle, but I don't even remember feeling it!
   After the epidural, things went really smooth and easy.  My blood pressure dropped almost immediately and I wasn't hurting anymore which was a big plus!  We all fell asleep for a few hours, and then woke up around 7:30.  The nap was very much needed for all three of us, and when I woke up I was finally no longer terrified that something wrong was going to happen to my baby, and I was excited to see everything play out. For the rest of the day we watched movies, played some games (including monopoly) and took a few more naps.  Around 12:30 the nurse came in to check me and said I was dilated to a 7.  I wasn't even feeling anything!  It was great!  Around 1:00 we were watching "Singin in the Rain" and I sent Joe to go get some lunch, and the nurse came back while I was gone.  She said "well, do you wanna have a baby now?"  Of course I told her yes, but I wanted to wait for Joe.  She asked me to start to try pushing, and I just couldn't do it quite yet.  So we decided to wait a little while before trying again, though she decided to start setting everything up.  By the time Joe came back, I really felt like it was time!  So we tried again, and it worked!  Wahoo!  I pushed for a half hour, and they actually had to tell me to stop pushing so that the Dr. could get in there!  The Dr. came in, saw what movie we were watching, which was now at the part of the movie where Gene Kelly was actually singin in the rain, and said "Wow, 'Singin in the Rain...' your baby is going to be born with class!"  The Dr. barely had enough time after putting on his gown and gloves to catch the baby!  Because I had a mirror I could see exactly when the baby was born.  I watched as the Dr. suctioned his mouth and nose, but he still wasn't crying!  I just watched saying "cry...cry...cry..." and finally, he cried!  They then put my sweet little baby on my chest, and I couldn't even believe it.  Here he was, after all that waiting, and puking, and crying, and waiting, he was here!  In my arms!  I realized how much I loved him, and what a miracle he was.  He was so tiny and precious I just couldn't believe it.  The Dr. told me everything had gone beautifully, and I only had first degree tearing!  Hooray!  He congratulated us and the left, he had not even been in there a full 10 minutes!  The nurse then asked me if i wanted anything to eat.  I was actually surprised because I thought it would be longer before they let me have food.  She gave me a list of options for something to eat, and I picked chicken strips.  Then she asked if I wanted anything to drink, and said I could have a milkshake...honestly I don't think anything has ever sounded so wonderful to eat as that vanilla milkshake did when she offered it.  (and still even three weeks later, when anybody asks me what I want to eat, it is always a vanilla milkshake from the hospital...) It was probably the best meal I have ever had!  ice chips are not a staple of life to live off of for 12 hours!
  After a while we tried to get him to nurse, and he just wouldn't latch!  The nurse checked him, and we realized the poor little guy was tongue-tied!  We did get him to nurse a little though.  I held him for about an hour and half before I finally let them take him away to weigh him, measure him, and give him a bath.  I really didn't want to let him go.  For those of you who thought we were naming him Mitchell, here is where this changed, every time I looked at him and tried to call him Mitchell, it just didn't fit.  Luckily we had talked about the name Hudson about a week before the baby was born, so we had a backup!  And he definitely looks like a Hudson.
   Two short hours after delivery the epidural had worn off so the nurse said I could get up!  She took me to the bathroom, where I had the best shower of my life, and then we got all ready to go to the mother/baby room.
   Poor little Hudson still was having a hard time eating because of his tongue, and he had swallowed amniotic fluid so he kept choking and spitting up.  He also wouldn't cry...at all!  We tried waking him up and bothering him, but he just wouldn't cry!  What a good little guy.  That night the nurse kept him with her in the nursery to try and feed him and keep an eye on him so he didn't choke while Joe and I were sleeping.  I kept waking up every half hour or so waiting for her to bring back my baby.  She finally brought him back around 5:30, I was so happy to have him back with me again!  around six I pulled him into my arms, and easily fell back asleep.  Around 7:00 the Dr. came in and asked if I wanted to go home that day, and I told him no, because I was worried about Hudson not eating, and that he was choking so much.  He told me I was smart and that he would see me tomorrow!  The student doing her clinicals that day came in to take my vitals and Hudson's vitals.  As soon as she put the blood cuff on his little arm he started screaming!  The student nurse, turned and said "I'm so so sooo sorry!"  I think she thought I was going to turn into a mama bear on her for making my baby cry, instead, Joe and I both started cheering!  I think she was a bit confused that we were happy that our baby was crying, but we were just glad he was because he hadn't since a few minutes after he was born!  While she was taking Hudson's vitals, I threw up my entire breakfast!  Ahh!  I was devastated!  The throwing up was supposed to end right?!!!
    After that we met Hudson's Dr. that we had chosen a few weeks before.  Dr. Hopkins is Hudson's Dr, and I actually know his son, because his son is a music major.  Dr. Hopkins clipped Hudson's tongue (brave little guy didn't even cry!) and then told us he wanted to see us in 4 days.
    I spent the rest of the morning throwing up and trying to hold down anything I could.  We were really glad that we decided to stay an extra day...around 2:00 I finally stopped throwing up, and was able to eat some lunch...mashed potatoes and a vanilla milkshake!!! Wahoo for milkshakes!  That night we got lots of visitors including Joe's grandparents who brought me balloons!  I was super excited about the balloons.  We also got our steak and shrimp meal that night, and it was delicious!  I really like the hospital food there, and next time we go out to eat, my vote is the hospital cafeteria!
   Everything went smoothly from there and we were able to leave the hospital the next day right around noon.  After we got home, Joe's mom and sister Anna came over to meet the baby.  Anna's son William was so excited to be around the baby and just loved holding him!
   That night I was terrified to go to bed, but we made it through the night...most of it was spent with my hand on Hudson's belly making sure he was breathing.  I've been able to calm down about that since.  I'm so grateful for all the help that I have recieved since Hudson was born, from my mom, my husband, my mother-in-law, and from numerous friends who come and visit and extend the offer of a helping hand whenever I need it.
    I just feel so lucky and blessed to be the mommy of such a special little boy.  These last three weeks have been so hard, but so wonderful.  I can't believe the kind of love you get, and I already know that my life is changed forever.  I love being a mommy, and I'm so excited to see how this beautiful baby is going to grow up.  My mom was right, somehow I have been given special mommy powers to give him what he needs!  I just love him so much!  I am holding him as I type, and I keep looking at him, and I can't believe how perfect he is.  I know that he is a special spirit sent from my Heavenly Father, and I just am amazed that Heavenly Father would trust me with someone so precious.
    I am so grateful for the help and support of my Husband.  He is such a great daddy, and so patient.  He even wakes up in the middle of the night to change diapers and walk with Hudson when I am just too exhausted.  He does this even though he has early morning class, and he works late most nights!  I am so proud of him, and I am so, so grateful that our family is forever.  These two men are my whole world, and I am so lucky to have both of them in my life!
 This experience has really strengthened my testimony of the gospel.  I know that my Savior lives.  I know Heavenly Father loves me, and sends help, strength, and guidance to me when I need it.  I know, without a doubt that families are forever, and I have never been more grateful for that knowledge as I am now.
So Happy!

Daddy holding Hudson for the first time

In awe at our baby

his going home outfit!  He is so small that it was huge on him!  He had a good two inches we could pull out at the waistline of his pants!

He is just perfect!

I love his eyes!  And his daddy is quite handsome ;)

This is right after his first bath!
 

Sunday, September 11, 2011

The Zoo!


My family came to visit a few weeks ago and we went to the zoo!  If was super fun to have my family here, we went to the zoo in Idaho Falls, and then we went to the Bodies Exhibit, it was really really neat!  Kinda sad though because they didn't have the full exhibit there like they did when we went to it in St. Louis, so there was some fun stuff missing, but that's okay.  


  




The Lion is about to eat JOE!

AND MY BELLY!

This is me waiting for my "egg" to hatch....

This is me getting impatient for my egg to hatch...one more week!

We did maternity pictures with Kim and they turned out great!!!  She is super talented, and I'm glad that she was so willing to do them!  














The baby's room is almost all ready!  My goal is to get it completely ready and stocked up while Joe is at school tomorrow!  I will take some pictures of it when I am done.  It is crazy to think that Joe will be going back to school tomorrow, and that it is the start of a new semester already!  We kept hoping the baby would come before school started, but we don't mind that he isn't here yet.  
My baby shower was yesterday and it was really fun to celebrate my baby with some of my close friends.  Joe's sister Anna and his Grandma came and it was really great to see them there!   It was really neat because  Grandma gave me a quilt for the baby, and Joe's Mom sent a nursing cover made of the same material!  So now he has all sorts of matching stuff!  
We went to the Dr. on Friday and he said that nothing is happening yet, so hopefully something will happen soon!  But his heartbeat is still strong, and he is measuring just where he is supposed to be!  And even though the books all said he would stop moving as he got more cramped, he actually is moving around more!  (I think he is just excited to get here!)  
Hopefully the next post I make will have some pictures of our little man!  Love you all!

Monday, August 22, 2011

LESS THAN A MONTH!

Hello...so I got on the computer today and realized I haven't posted anything for awhile...that is sad.  So really the only thing going on in life right now is that the baby is due in less than a month!  Joe and I are so excited!  The baby's crib is made and all of his clothes are folded and put away.  We are so happy that we are going to have our little son in our arms so soon!  We went to a childbirth class on Saturday, and to the Dr. on Saturday!  The class was super helpful it taught us both some things we wanted to learn, and put a lot of our uneasiness at rest.  We also got to go on a tour of the maternity part of the hospital and I feel very blessed that my baby gets to be born in such a nice place.  The Dr. says everything is going great, and we will now start seeing him once a week!
    The rest of life is good.  It's crazy to think that Joe will be going back to school in three weeks, and then comes the baby!  Right now we are really just enjoying the seven week break and it is wonderful because we get to spend a lot of time together during the day before Joe goes to work.  I have read a lot of books in the evenings that he is at work, and it feels great to be reading books again!  I don't get a lot of time for that when I am in school and I am definitely glad to get that time back!
    My family is coming to visit this week and I am sooooo excited!  They haven't been to Rexburg the entire time that I have lived in Rexburg, so I am super stoked that they are coming now!  We get to play with them for a few days and I am super stoked to show them all of the greatness of Rexburg!  I am also glad that we are moved into the new house so that there is more space for them all to be comfy here at my house!
    We used some of our bed, bath, and beyond cards from wedding presents to buy curtains for the windows, and the house looks great!  I love what curtains can do to a room!  Hopefully soon I will take some pictures and post them!
    We will taking some pregnancy pictures soon, thanks to my wonderful friend Kim, and I will post them along with pictures of the house, since I have had some requests!  Love you all!

Monday, August 8, 2011

Yellowstone


We went to Yellowstone with Grandma and Grandpa Parks for Grandpa Park's 86th birthday!  It was super fun and we enjoyed it a lot!  It was my first time going to Yellowstone, and it was so beautiful!!!!  Excuse the yucky picture of me standing next to Old Faithful...it was super cool to watch, and hopefully the video we got of it will load.  We didn't think we would get to see it, but it was supposed to go off within 15 minutes, so we got to stay and watch, and it was amazing!  And for Grandpa's birthday Grandma bought us all ice cream in the Old Faithful lodge and it was delicious!  And we had a picnic lunch!  Yum!   It was really fun to go with Joe's Grandpa, he told us a lot of the history of the places where we drove by since he grew up here.  It was neat to hear about the things he has done in his childhood and throughout his life.  He truly is an amazing man.
    I am now 34 weeks along which is really exciting!  Joe and I can't believe that there is only 6 weeks left and our little guy is going to be here!  We are so excited!
   We are going this week to Emily's house in Boise. and we are really happy to get to spend some time with her.  We haven't seen her since Christmas, and we miss her!  We are going to Boise because Joe's truck needs an emissions test, and we can only get it done in Boise because that is where it is registered, and it is the only place where we can get the emission test done.  Not gonna lie though, I'm not excited to make the hot trip in the truck...but it will be fun!
  After we go to Emily's house, we will go to my house to see my family and pick up stuff for the baby!
   Our new apartment it pretty much all moved into.  We only have one more box in our room to unpack, and then find a new home for a few things and we are done!  Wahoo!  As soon as I get decorations on the walls, and the house looks pretty I will post some pictures.  We got some new curtains with our gift cards to Bed, Bath, and Beyond, and I am so excited to get them hung up and see how they look!
   Joe got a raise at work, and I am so proud of him.  Joe is the first one to ever ask for a raise at the branch he is working in, and the boss told him that he thought Joe was definitely worth what Joe was asking for!  Hooray!  And because Joe went and asked, some of the other supervisors got a raise too!  Joe works so hard to support our family and I couldn't ask for a better husband and provider.
  I think that's about all that is new in our lives...6 more weeks and we are gonna be PARENTS!  HOORAY!


This is me at the first waterfall we saw!





GEYSER!








Me and Grandma Parks!


All of us together!

This is the lower falls of the Yellowstone River.  We didn't see the big one, because by the time we got here we were all tired and ready to go home!
One of the video's is the geyser bubbling, and one is Old Faithful.  Grandma said it didn't get that big when she saw it, so we felt pretty lucky!


Sunday, July 24, 2011

School's Out! Wahoo!

School is out for the summer!  Hooray!  Well...for the rest of the summer.  We are really glad to have the break though, especially right now so we can get ready for the baby to come!  Speaking of baby, he is doing really well.  We wen't to the Dr. yesterday, and everything is great!  He is measuring perfectly, and his heartbeat is nice and strong!  I will now start going to the Dr. every two weeks for the next two appointments, and then we will be going every week!  Exciting!  I can't believe how close he is to being here, and how not ready I feel!  Sometimes I really wonder if I can be the mommy I have always expected myself to be, but more importantly if I can be the mommy that he needs me to be!  I will be 32 weeks tomorrow, and I finally took some more pictures, so I will post them with this.  I can't believe we only have 8 weeks to go!
    The end of the semester went well, Joe and I did well in all of our classes.  A few not as well as we hoped, but we still did well.  I had my last jury ever this semester and it feels great to be done with those!  (Well it's my last one as long as I pass.)  I was really worried that they would pick my French song, but they didn't...they picked my German!  That made me quite happy, I love singing in German, I think it is such a beautiful language.  I sang well, I had one high note that I squeaked on, because the baby shifted right as I was taking my breath for the note!  But I nailed that same note on the next verse, and I sang really well the rest of the song so I'm not too worried.
   We are getting excited to move, hopefully this will be the last time in a while...but who knows!  We check into the apartment on Friday, and then we will be moving on Saturday!  Hooray!  I think I'm most excited to live in an apartment with air conditioning again!  They still have not fixed ours here, though we got an e-mail saying the part that they are waiting on should come sometime next week...but we will probably be gone before then!  I'm really grateful that Allison will be staying an extra week to help me pack and clean up, that girl is such an angel right now and I don't think she even know how much we appreciate her.  I love having her up at school with me, she comes over often to sit with me while Joe is at work, and that makes a big difference.
    Tomorrow I am going to the Library to get a library card, so I need some idea's for good books!  Also, I have decided to become more efficient at planning a menu...so I need recipes!  Especially recipes that don't take a lot of ingredients and don't cost a lot to make!  So if you have any, send them my way please!




We took these pictures after my Jury on Thursday...hence why my hair is actually done for once!

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Baby Chain!

So for FHE on Monday Joe and I made a paper chain of how many days left until the baby is due!  (81 DAYS!)  I love paper chains...I make them whenever I have a big event to count down to, and I figured having a baby was a pretty big event!  We had a pretty great time, and here are some fun pictures, except for ignore my crazy faces...I was really tired.
 Also here are some pictures of my cooking skills from the Sunday before last...I made meatloaf, homemade mashed potatoes, AND an artichoke!  I have never made homemade mashed potatoes or artichokes before so I  was pretty darn proud of myself!
I went to the Dr. on Wednesday, and guess what...NO DIABETES!  I was really quite worried about that, because I very much so like getting to eat whatever I want!  No diets for me!  I also am not anemic at all which is really great too!  My Dr. said that only 10% of pregnant women are not anemic even a little...so I am super healthy!  The baby is super healthy too!  He is measuring right where he is supposed to be, and we listened to his little heart beat, and that little tyke is just doing great!  We love our little guy.
Joe is no longer working weekends!  WAHOO!  so I no longer have to sit alone at church.  Please keep the family that he was filling in for in your prayers though.  The baby is still in Primary Children's Hospital down in Salt Lake, and her daddy is riding the shuttle each weekend to get to work, so that he can be with her and mommy during the week.  Please just pray that she will be healthy enough to come home soon!
We are excited for this 4th of July weekend!  We get to go home and see my family!  Mari and John are coming up for their Idaho reception, and I am so excited that my whole family will be together.  Some of my aunts and uncles are coming...and my Grandpa!  I just love that guy!
Three more weeks left of the semester!  Wahoo!  I am super excited to be done with the semester, though I am not sure what I am gonna do with all of the extra time!  Maybe get ready for a baby to come or something!  We also are going to be moving again at the beginning of August, so I guess I have that to keep me busy as well!







Anyways...I'll stop boring you all with my life stories...We love you all and we hope that you are all doing great!  God Bless!